Luxurious tropical resort home on Isla Bonita, Belize.
Ideal for family, friends, groups of fly-fishermen & divers
TESTIMONIALS

What Our Guests Say




Ambergris Caye-STAY HERE,
By Alan Long (Fayetteville, AR USA) August 23, 2010


This is not just a vacation home-this is a little bit of heaven! The location on the island is perfect. Not only are you on the best end of the island, but you are also just a short water taxi ride ($9.00) from San Pedro Town. The restaurants on this end of the island are amazing! Close by are Mata Chica resort (3 mins walk on the beach), Portofino resort and Rendezvous. Each of these resorts and restaurants are priced well and have a great atmosphere. One thing many homes lack that this home does not is service! Baja Mar features the most convenience that a vacation home could want. The onsite grounds keeper arranged meals, water taxi service, prepared our kayaks, cleaned our pool daily and even arranged our snorkeling excursions. He lives directly behind the house, so he is always a few steps away. I went with 5 other people, and the house is very well equipped to handle multiple guests. Each downstairs bedroom features a private bathroom and small kitchen. Laundry service was also onsite. I have mentioned that the house was close dining, but in addition to close restaurants there is also an onsite chef for those meals that you would like to eat in and grocery delivery was a phone call away. This is by far the best location on the island. If you are thinking about a resort, reconsider! The Baja Mar house offers more than a resort ever could! This is most definitely on my list of places to return to.



Best Vacation Ever - amazing view, September 13, 2010

By Corso's (Miami, FL)

My family and I (6 adults) stayed at Baja Mara for 5 nights for a family vacation. Location could not have been better; right by local restaurants and just a boat trip from town...and an amazing view! The house was perfectly set up for a group with mixed singles and couples. We got excellent help and service to and from the house, town or any excursion. We we were always picked up at our dock with no problems. While there we had a cell phone to make quick local reservations and have any questions answered that we may have had. House had a folder with all necessary contacts that we may need. Alfred the care taker of the house was amazing! He was always very friendly and always eager to help in any way he could. The owners of Mata Grande Grocery (Mandy & Jason) helped us a lot by being able to fully stock the house with food, snacks and drinks before and during the visit. The visit could not have been any better!




Awesome home rental, September 5, 2010
By Vickie Krebs (Salt lake city, Utah)

We stayed at this home for a week, four friends, three from California and one from Utah. We had an excellent stay. The home is beautiful we had a true Belizean meal prepared for us and served on the back patio. The pool was wonderful and the caretaker cleaned it every morning. The oceanfront views were gorgeous. Mandy and Jason made sure we got everything we needed. We met a lot of locals and just had an awesome time. The snorkeling at the barrier reef was absolutely fantastic. We hope to visit again.



Great House, January 27, 2011

By Kevin (Missouri)

Just got home from 10 days at Baja Mar with 2 other couples for a total of 6 adults. What a great place to stay, far enough from town for quiet but close enough to get there for some shopping. Nice places to eat are within walking distance, White Sands Dive shop very close by and they will pick you from your dock. The pool is awsome and this house is RIGHT on the beach! The caretakers Alfred and Diane and just great, very helpful with anything you ask. We rented a golf cart for our stay and had a good time getting around the island on it but beware, the roads are rough. You can also use the water taxi if you don't get a cart. Mata Grande Grocery will deliver items right to your house and is a short walk away. Mandy and her husband Jason own the grocery and also manage this property, they are great to work with and take care of everything for you as far as getting to the house and back to town. We will be back again to Baja Mar! Belize It!

 

Great Beach Front Home

Guest: Kevin (Lake Ozark, MO)
Date of Stay: 01/15/11 Review Submitted: 01/26/11

Very nice new home located right on the beach in a great area! RoJo Lounge just one house away and more down the beach. The caretakers, Alfred and Diane are the best and keep everything in perfect order and are very helpful with what to do. We just got back from 10 days at this house and enjoyed every day. The 3 large bedrooms are on the lower level and all 3 have their own kitchenettes and can be locked out from each other, the upper level has the living room, kitchen and 2 bedrooms with queen beds, the master has a connecting bath and the other has one just outside its door. Could not ask for much more in a house. Mandy & Jason manage the property and own Mata Grande Grocery just up the beach toward town, very nice people to work with and the store is very close and so handy, they also deliver anything you may need. They will arrange all your pick-up and return to town to the airport. You won't be disappointed in this property.

Best beach holiday ever, January 13, 2011
By Gabriel Varvaro (Barbados)

We stayed at Casa Bajamar for a unforgettable week in July 2010. The place is amazing, with unobstructed views of the reef, cool breeze, a great plunge pool to chill out, hammocks, etc, etc. The house has a a great layout, upstairs has a main apartment with two decks for dinners "al fresco" or just to relax on a chair to read a book, the kitchen is fully equipped and the two bedrooms are breezy with very comfortable beds. The suites downstairs (we stayed in one of them) are great too, with a spacious bathroom and a kitchenette each. Perfect for couples. Alfred the caretaker was always happy to help and makes sure the property is on mint condition all the time. Also, Mandy from Mata Chica groceries can make sure you receive any food or drink supplies even before arrival... just great service. We also made good use of the kayaks available that can get you to the reef in no time for fantastic snorkeling. Diving can also be arranged nearby. I'd definitely recommend staying at Casa Bajamar.

 



Rent this house.....full stop., May 5, 2011

By VS (NY, CT and Washington DC)

Just got back from San Pedro (inspiration of the famous Madonna song - La isla bonita) for a family reunioin where 7 of us (5 adults and 2 kids) rented Casa Baja Mar. WOW WOW WOW. There's really no other way to describe this place. This house is perfect - private (but not in the middle of nowhere), well equpped (we cooked a LOT and had our cable for early mornign cartoons!), fun (pool/beach/walks) and luxurious. The kids loved the pool which is much bigger than the pictures depict, we enjoyed sitting on the porch and reading and the family yoga on the beach is something we will remember forever. The caretaker and his family were extremely kind and helpful and made our stay so pleasant. They even helped book our snorkeiling trips. The kayaks are great as the reef is close and the laughs and memories will last forever. When we go back to Belize, we will stay at Casa Baja Mar again.

Beautiful House, Excellent Caretakers

Jenn (Fairbanks, AK)

Date of Stay: 02/05/11 Review  Submitted: 08/02/11 

Nine of us stayed here last February over Super Bowl week-end and the week following. The house is beautiful--bedrooms spacious, tons of deck space, awesome infinity pool. Alfred and Diane are the caretakers and they're really great--friendly, knowledgeable, and really good at their jobs. They cooked for us a couple times while we stayed there, and the meals were awesome. We should have taken them up on their cooking offer more days than we did. There's a dock off the property, so tour/scuba pickups are easy. You just walk to the end of your dock and wait for a boat. There are dogs everywhere near San Pedro, and we loved that. Alfred and Diane have two awesome little ones who will unobtrusively come by from time to time if you're friendly to them. Other dogs will adopt you for a day if you seem amenable to their company. The house comes with floaty things to facilitate cocktail drinking while drifting around the pool. The scuba diving out of San Pedro is obviously awesome. The dirt track to town is great scenic fun and you will want to rent a golf cart or two to drive it. All told, the place is great and the location is lovely. A group of us go to a different warm place every year in the winter and it was a little hard to not choose a second year here. It was that good.

Loved this house and setting, July 6, 2011

By Cynthia Borland (Dorchester, Ontario Canada)

When you arrive via water taxi and approach the dock, the view of the home is stunning. It does not stop there. The grounds are well maintained, the house clean and well appointed. We had a group of 10 adults and the space was perfect. Both front and back decks added the ability to slip away for a peaceful read or opportunity to enjoy everyone’s company with plenty of room to spare. The caretakers Alfred and Diane could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay and were very good at offering advice for travelers. We enjoyed their offers to cook dinner with local cuisine. Mornings on the deck overlooking the pool and the water are so beautiful it is difficult to capture in words. Accommodate for the need for a water taxi or be happy to wander the beaches enjoying the resorts and restaurants close by. We highly recommend this property and the management group is very good. Enjoy. A must stay if you are looking for a place to unwind while enjoying upscale home stay accommodations.

Awesome!

Guest: The Fine's (Pittsburgh, PA)

Date of Stay: 02/19/12 Review Submitted: 03/20/12

I organized this trip for my husband & I along with 3 other adult couples. What a great way to RELAX. Off the beaten path, but easy enough to get around for supplies and sightseeing. House was very well equipped and maintained. Caretaker Alfred & his wife Dannie were a pure delight to have around for questions and good conversations. Only regret like everyone else, was to have Alfred & Dannie cook more meals and just take advantage of the relaxing atmosphere of either the front deck overlooking the ocean or the rear patio with the nice big bar. Loved the Pool Bar!

 

Awesome place - would go back!

Guest: pami (corvallis montana)
Date of Stay: 03/11/12 Review Submitted: 04/08/12

We rented the lower three suites and had an absolutely wonderful time! The accomodations are everything that was advertised...except we didn't expect the fantastic service and friendship we received by the caretakers, Alfred and Dani (who is an exceptional cook!!) and our neighbor Marcos. We even got to know the owner who is a gracious interesting man. We spent most of our time at Casa Bajamar because it had everything we needed: kayaks, pool, beach chairs...store close by...Beautiful way to relax...we will return. We had a blast! If you visit say 'hi' to Wilson

We will return

Guest: Jimmy (Meridian)
Date of Stay: 03/17/12 Review Submitted: 06/23/12

We must agree with Pami as we had 1 of the 3 rooms on the bottom floor. ALL of the advertized amenities exceeded our expectations. For the Fly Fisherman, I can tell you Alfred has access to the best guides in Belize. I took 2 1/2 day trips during our stay and both were unforgetable. You get picked up at the dock and away you go to the flats. Have Dani and Alfred cook for you. The BEST dinners we had for sure. We do hope you'll say hi to Wilson too. Unbelizable time. Jim and Liz

Fabulous Vacation Home

Guest: Vicky H. (Chandler, AZ)
Date of Stay: 06/01/12 Review Submitted: 06/23/12

We stayed at Casa Bajamar for eight nights. It was the most relaxing vacation I have had in a long time! The house was awesome! We had a group of three couples and two single guys. The house had everything we needed for our vacation. We arrived in the early evening on a Friday. We had food delivered from the grocery store so we would have something to eat after a long day of travelling. The property has a caretaker, Alfred and he really took good care of us. He arranged a snorkeling trip, fishing trip and for a boat to take us on a private snorkeling trip and to take us to San Pedro for shopping. We had his wife Dionne cook three meals for us which was fabulous after snorkeling all day! The snorkeling at the reef with the kayaks was awesome as was the off-dock snorkeling the next dock north. I can't think of anything this house is missing. Each room has its own kitchenette, but since we were there as a group we used the kitchen upstairs. The deck upstairs has plenty of seating to just relax and gaze at the ocean. The downstairs also has plenty of chairs and a nice pool. The BBQ is at the back of the house with two tables and plenty of chairs. We sat there one evening, but that is where the mosquitos like to be, so we preferred the beach side of the house. Bring bug spray if you go. Most of us had quite a number of bites! We would go back to Ambergris Caye and would definitely stay at this house. Highly recommend everything about it!

Best Vacation Yet - Shelly Rhodes - Concord, CA USA

 

July 3, 2012

This house is amazing but what made it so good is the caretakers Alfred and Danny. They became part of the family and there was not a dry eye on anybody the day we left. They cooked us several meals that were awesome and were always around when we needed something. The house is set up so everybody has their own apartment almost. We had 10 people and there was plenty of space. I can't wait to go back again.

 

Best Stay Ever

Nicole Bennett, Martinez, CA

July 3, 2012

We just got back from 10 wonderful days in Belize at this house. Alfred and Dianie were the best caretakers ever, always there to answer any questions, cook, and get you whatever you needed. Mandy's store is super close for most anything you need, if it was not there, she found it for us, and the girl who works for her is charming. The location of the house is great, with restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as Mandy's store. 10 people fit very comfortably into the 5 rooms and having 5 bathrooms as well was a bonus. Alfred and Dianie cooked wonderful dinners for us. Having the pool just steps out the back door was the really great. I would highly recommend this house and we are absolutely going to return again.

Baja Mar-velous

Tom Chumbley, Chicago, IL

July 22, 2012

We were in Belize for a family vacation (including our 2 year old boy) and stayed at Baja Mar for 7 nights. The experience was absolutely perfect. Alfred and Dianie were incredibly helpful with dinners at the house, helping us book reservations, making recommendations, and caring for the property. As parents, we were especially appreciative of Alfred's genuine concern for our son's well being - they became fast friends! We had the house stocked with groceries upon our arrival and just made quick store runs for anything extra. If you stay here - be sure to have a golf cart to get to the store - it would be a very long walk. Bring bug spray for those journey's as mosquitos are thick if you are not along the beach front. Take advantage of the Kayak's and go out near the reef to snorkel - great way to start the day! Enjoy, Tom, Briana, and Walker